Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

Don’t blame me, I voted for Romney

It was just a gut call.  I can’t get excited about either Republican candidate.  I voted based on the degree of contempt each candidate has displayed towards conservatives.  It wasn’t McCain’s amnesty bill that made me vote against him, but his implication that anyone who opposed it was a racist.

 I happen to believe that catering to law-breakers is a bad idea.  If that’s racist, I don’t really understand what that word means.

I could only think of two reasons to vote for McCain over Romney:

He’s more likely to win in the general election in November

I think that’s a weak reason to vote for anyone.  We’re talking about an election that’s nine months away.  No one knows what the state of the world will be then—or even who the Democratic candidate will be.  When you get into who would match up better against whom, you’re venturing into the field of game theory, presupposing perfectly rational opponents.  My opponents are Democrats.  Enough said.

John McCain is stronger on the war.
.
This is harder, but here goes:
.
He was right about the surge.  He’s wrong about closing Guantanamo.  We should not be placed in the position of having to either release our prisoners of war or giving them lawyers and trying them criminally.
.
McCain has also called for our prisoners of war to have 5th amendment rights.  The Supreme Court has ruled that anyone who has 5th amendment protections should also be treated in accordance with the Miranda ruling.  So every prisoner taken would have to be informed of the right to remain silent, and provided an attorney–at the taxpayers expense–during questioning.
.
Wrong.
.
McCain is a man I admire personally.  I will vote for him in November.  But we should not fool ourselves about his positions.
.
He has made it clear that he doesn’t care about economics or cultural issues.  He’s running on the Iraq war.  Yet I question whether a candidate who has stated that one of his primary foreign policy objectives is to re-establish America’s popularity with France and Germany is on the right page in the broader conflict against Islamists everywhere.
.
All that said, I understand why fellow Republicans voted for him.  I’ll vote for him too, come November.  But let’s understand what kind of administration he’d have.
3 responses to “Don’t blame me, I voted for Romney

  1. Jackman February 23, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Welcome back to the fray!

    I disagree with your assertion that sizing up the head to head competition is a weak reason to vote for a candidate. Obama will likely be the Democrat candidate. He will draw well from the center. McCain will compete for those votes. Romney likely would not have.

    I would rather have a candidate that is slightly left of my ideal and competitive, than someone that I agree with all the time that cannot win.

    Politics is all about compromise.

  2. INFJ March 9, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I’m so sick of having to hold my nose when I vote. I had to do that for Bush on his second term, and now for McCain. I have to compromise my principles – again!

    INFJ

  3. Thirstily June 19, 2008 at 3:13 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Thirstily.

Leave a Reply

