Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

My latest decision

I think the reason I’ve been thinking so much about money is because my future has been so uncertain.  My store is closing, and I’ve been offered the same position for the same money in another location one town over.  Translation: slight pay cut (no more walking to work!)

Before I go any further, I want to reassure my father that when I’m talking about money, I’m talking about income versus outflow, not my savings.  I have a nest egg!  I’ve been agonizing about the possibility that instead of adding to it little by little every month, the money will be–equally slowly–going the other way.

 So, here were my options:

  1. Work until my store closes, take the two months’ severance pay, and find another job.  I could get a job that pays a dollar or two more an hour very easily.
  2. Take the position at the other store.  Forego the severance, and take a little money out of my savings every month.  On the other hand, keep my very good benefits.

So, I’ve been thinking about income and the lack of it.  And my thoughts went to the men I pass on the street every day with their hands out.  (Because I’m so darn cheerful.)  And I decided to take the severance.

Until my employer asked for my decision, and I asked for a few days to think it over.  Again.

I’ve decided to look at money the way I look at water: essential for life, but pointless to amass.

I’m staying with my company.  For now.  There’s one other benefit to staying on that I hadn’t thought about when it was all about money.  The other location isn’t open in the evenings.  I’ll have to time to take classes at night.  So there’s more money going out right there, but when I finish my degree maybe I’ll be able to do something that I like and that pays the bills.

So, that’s my decision.  Any comments?  Please?  There’s still time to change my mind…

5 responses to “My latest decision

  1. Heather February 10, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    I’m psyched for you. While building a nest egg is a good thing, there’s more than one way to invest in your future. We’re with you on this, we got your back, so go for it.

  2. Jackman February 11, 2007 at 10:41 am

    I don’t know. I think earning money is a good thing. Your analogy between water and money is interesting. I see it a different way. After all, we have reservoirs to prepare for droughts. Just counting on water from streams is a bit risky. Having money allows you to do all the good things that you talk about. More of it does it on a larger scale. I also give 10% of my income to my favorite causes and it is one of the most rewarding things I do.

    Then there is your time. Giving your time to something you feel strongly about is the single most important thing you can do. I believe you should give more than you take and giving your precious time is the greatest sacrifice of all. And the most rewarding.

    I think your recent obsession with money is rooted in your lack of it. If your current job makes you happy, in all areas of your life, keep it. If earning a little more (or given your potential a lot more), will make you happy, do that.

    A job in an office would give you perhaps $50 in your wallet when a beggar asks you for money, allowing a $5 donation. A 9 to 5 would give you time to work at a shelter or soup kitchen or with teens or whatever. It would also allow you time to pursue your degree.

    I realize that the comfort of the known is very appealing, but sometimes you have to take risks. Sometimes in doing so, you can fail. So what. You have an incredible safety net. Your family. Most likely, you will succeed, allowing you independence and the ability to help others on a much grander scale.

    Whatever you decide, base it on what you really want. Not a fear of the unknown. And whatever that decision is…we got you Bro.

  3. sandy February 11, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    What would you do if you knew you wouldn’t fail?

  4. Mike Kriskey February 11, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    I’d jump off the Empire State Building and float to the ground.

  5. Mike Kriskey February 11, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Jackman–

    I wouldn’t say I’ve been obsessed with money, just thinking about it. It’s an important factor when making decisions like I’m trying to make. In any case where you have to balance money against other factors like job satisfaction and job security–things that don’t have an intrinsic value–you have to assign a value to money, like I did.

    My reservoir is my nest egg. I’ve thought about it, and if I do what I’m planning to do (tuition included) I’ll end up in about eighteen months with a reservoir that’s 85% full. (Assuming it’s at 100% as I’m writing.)

    I’ll be okay financially, and I hope I’ll be happier.

Leave a Reply

