Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

My theme music

It struck me that–not in the Superbowl of course–NFL teams should play music when a kicker comes out to kick a field goal.  It’s kind of like when a reliever enters a baseball game. 

Should the need ever arise, I’ve decided on my theme music.  I’d like to be introduced to the Led Zepplin song “When the Levee Breaks.”  If I ever need theme music.

It works for everything.  Whether I’m coming in to shut down the Yankees in the bottom of the ninth,* I’m contending for the Ultimate Fighting Championship, or being introduced with my bride at my wedding reception.  Wherever I would really want to intimidate everyone, “When the Levee Breaks” does the trick.

That’s it.  If we make the darts playoffs, I’m bringing my tape recorder.  I don’t have a boombox, but if I turn up the volume on my cassette player, no one will notice it’s not in stereo.

That’ll intimidate ’em!

*[UPDATE: I just realized that however unlikely it is that I’d be called upon to close down the Yankees in the bottom of the ninth, it’s nowhere near as unlikely as the Yankees playing my favored music while I run in from the bullpen.  Make that the TOP of the ninth.]

9 responses to “My theme music

  1. sandy February 18, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Cryin wont help you, prayin wont do you no good,
    Now, cryin wont help you, prayin wont do you no good,
    When the levee breaks, mama, you got to move.

  2. Mike Kriskey February 18, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    I think for the purposes of the dart match I’d have to just stick to the first minute and a half of the song, before the vocals come in. But people know the words, and the “cryin won’t help you” would be implied.

    I figure I’ll stand in the bar’s bathroom or kitchen during the first eight bars–those great drums laying down the rhythm. The crowd hushes. They know what’s coming. Then, when the rest of the band joins in, I’ll burst through the door cradling my cassette player. With the music blaring–the driving bass line doubled by the electric guitar weaving in and out of Bonham’s groove, with the harmonica high above, stabbing through it all–I’ll swagger to the dartboard.

    The only problem is that the walk would only take about twenty seconds, which would leave a lot of good music unused. And that’s not how I roll. So, to give the people what they want, I’ll have to stop every few feet and spend more time than usual kissing my biceps and slapping my chest to really get the crowd into it.

  3. sandy February 19, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Wow! What a scene… keep me posted and let me know how that works out for you!

  4. Mike Kriskey February 19, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    I’ll videotape it!

  5. Mike Kriskey February 20, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Some of my teammates have weighed in on their preferred music. Now, it was my idea, and I’m the captain, so I think I should be the only one to get to enter to music. Besides, their choices suck.

    1. Red: “Daydream Believer” by the Monkees. You’re so missing the point, dude.
    2. Papi: “Thick as a Brick” by Jethro Tull. I keep telling you, man, the title doesn’t mean what you think it means.
    3. The Kid: “That music that they played in ‘Snatch’ when Brad Pitt entered for the final fight.” You know, that’s pretty good. That’s so good that I’m glad I “accidentally” didn’t let you play enough to qualify for the playoffs. No one steals my thunder. No one.

  6. sandy February 20, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Not that anyone asked, but my theme song is the instrumental music played during the Wicked Witch of the West’s appearance in the Wizard of Oz. I especially relate to the scene when she’s riding the bike. You know the one…Na na na na na na Na na na na na na NAAA! It plays in my head at random times throughout the day, but particularly when I’m stressed.

    So don’t pick that song. It’s already taken.

  7. Mike Kriskey February 21, 2007 at 1:20 am

    That’s a good one! Really? I don’t see you like that at all, but then again, I’m your little brother. You’ve always ttreated me better than anyone else.

    If you want that theme music, it’s yours.

    But I’ll say, here and now, I don’t think anyone has every been lucky enough to have older brothers and sisters like I have. It just doesn’t happen in real life. Except for me.

    But, that said, I’ll promise that every time I see or talk to you, in the back of my head I’ll hear: “Dah dah dah da na, nah, Dah dah dah da na, nah.”

  8. INFJ March 3, 2007 at 10:42 am

    Hey! It happens in REAL LIFE! I can still remember that much!

  9. Mike Kriskey March 4, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    INFJ–

    If I’m not mistaken, you don’t *have* any older brothers and sisters.

    Or were you talking about yourself?

    Ha!

Leave a Reply

