Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

January book notes

One thing I’ve wanted to do here is review books that I’ve read and enjoyed.  I haven’t done it yet and I don’t think I will, for the simple reason that it’s too much like work.  You have two options when reviewing a book.  You can take notes as you’re reading, which ruins the enjoyment.  Or you can read the book once for pleasure and then turn around and read it again to find the passages you need for the review.  Neither choice appeals to me, so occasionally (aiming for once per month) I’ll just cite a few books that I’ve recently read, enjoyed, and would recommend.


America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It

Why is Mark Steyn so gloomy?  He argues in this book that the reason the US cannot rely on its European “allies” is due to demography.  The European elites know that very soon they will be minorities in their own countries, and that they had better start making nice with their Muslim populations now.

Why is Mark Steyn so funny?  He has to be, because this is one bitter pill to swallow.

Vile France: Fear, Duplicity, Cowardice and Cheese

I know, I know.  French-bashing is easy.  That doesn’t make it wrong.  Denis Boyles has lived and worked in France for years, and traces the development of anti-Americanism back to before the French Revolution.  This book will give you a taste of what French (and, by extension, European) politics is all about.

The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World’s Most Intolerant Religion

Robert Spencer has nerve.  This book’s jacket, like that of his previous The Politically Incorrect Guide(tm) to Islam (and the Crusades, lists his home as “an undisclosed secure location.”  I don’t blame him one bit.  The Truth About Muhammadreveals the story behind the Koran.  Just as in Judaism and Catholicism, a whole literature has sprouted around the holy text of Islam, filling in the gaps in the revealed scripture.  Read this book to find out how the most respected Islamic historians, scholars, and theologians have interpreted the Koran in the context of Muhammed’s life and deeds.  It’s important.

Finally, on a lighter note:

Spoiled Rotten America: Outrages of Everyday Life

You might not know Larry Miller’s name, but I’ll bet you’ll recognize his face. This comedian/actor is one of the funniest men in America.  His book is a gentle look at what’s good and bad about our country.  There’s not much about politics in here, but what there is I find agreeable.  I’ve always found Miller funny, but after reading this book, I’d love to have a beer with him.  (As I would with Dennis Miller, but don’t get them confused.)

By the way, if you click on any of these links to Amazon, I get a percentage of your purchase even if you buy something completely different while you’re there.  So whenever you want to purchase something from that evil behemoth that’s driving our beloved neighborhood bookstores out of business, come here first and help a brother out.

2 responses to “January book notes

  1. INFJ April 16, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Why don’t you just use a highlighter? The contents of the book may or may not be of any value, but the paper is cheap – or are you just a neat freak?

  2. Mike Kriskey April 16, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    None of these books belonged to me, but even if they did I can’t stand marking my books!

Leave a Reply

