Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

I love PBS pledge drives

I’m a thrifty bastard.  I pay $17 per month for cable.  No HBO, MTV or TMC.  I don’t even get CNN or ESPN!  Just 23 channels (2-25, ch. 24 is the Cablevision channel).  It’s enough for me, and I’m satisfied.

I watch a lot of syndicated shows: Seinfeld, Simpsons, Everybody Loves Raymond, Bernie Mac, etc.  During prime time, though, nothing beats PBS.  Nature documentaries, Antiques Roadshow, Britcoms, Secrets of the Dead; I love them all.

 So thank goodness for PBS pledge drives.

I should feel guilty about not giving any money to the network I watch most often.  I should wrestle with my conscience.  On the one hand, I love their programming.  On the other hand, should I really give Bill Moyers money?

Thanks to the brains behind PBS, I never have to think about these things.  Every pledge drive, they do the same thing.

 They televise opera.  Or a doo-wop concert.  Or some washed-up folk singers.

They never show anything that I watch religiously throughout the rest of the year!  It’s like they’re saying: “We don’t want your money!”

Excellent.  I’ll wait the four weeks, and then it’ll be Ch. 10, 13 & 21 all the time again.  With no guilt.

2 responses to “I love PBS pledge drives

  1. Keisha March 26, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    I too LOVE PBS. I’ve felt guilty about not donating as well. But for 50 bucks I want more than a polyester tote bag!

    I definitely think it helps keep me well rounded. I watch some of the trashiest, junk food-for-the-mind TV out there so it helps that I actually am interested in intelligent programming as well.

    I’m trying to think of my favorite programs on PBS. Let’s see, I love all the cooking shows even though I don’t cook. I really like Frontier House (and the one at the English Manor). American Masters, American Experience and the Ken Burns Jazz documentaries. Oh, I also like History Detectives (is that PBS or History Channel).

    Mike, do you get the History Channel? Channel 47. I think you’d like that too.

  2. Mike Kriskey April 25, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    I don’t get any fancy cable stations–just the broadcast ones. I’ve been lucky using Netflix to get DVDs of some good shows, though. I like Penn & Teller’s “Bullsh*t!” I just spent a few days at my sister’s house and really, really like the History channel. I thought it was all WWII all the time, but I guess it’s changed since I last saw it.

Leave a Reply

