Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

This year’s Thanksgiving memory

My sister sent me home with a ton of leftovers, for which I was truly thankful.  Unfortunately, she put them in a pink-on-pink Victoria’s Secret bag.  Upon my return home, I hustled past the doorman, using my body to conceal the embarrassing item.

The wind of my passage whipped out a receipt from the depths of the bag, which fluttered to the floor.  I froze as the doorman stooped to retrieve it.

He glanced at it before handing it to me.  I took it with a trembling hand.  A gift receipt for cotton bikinis.

Looking him in the eye, I detected a repressed twinkle.  I did the only thing I could.

“Thanks,” I said.  “I haven’t had a chance to try them on, yet.”

Leave a Reply

