Falling Awake

Just Darts Since 2009

Chuck Schumer wrests veto power from George Bush

Just after the election, I mentioned the trouble Bush would have getting conservative judges confirmed (see update at bottom of that post).  In an interview earlier this week, Chuck Schumer confirms my fear (if nothing else):

From now on, all the President’s judicial appointments will need to meet the requirements of Mr. Schumer.

“One more justice would have made it a 5-4 conservative, hard-right majority for a long time. That won’t happen.”

Read the whole article to see what else Schumer has planned for us, but also to gasp at the senator’s outsized ego.

A taste:

“I generally have an eye toward longer-term strategy and politics, and I think my colleagues rely on me for that.”

“I’ve always had some influence, and I guess now, because of what we’ve been able to accomplish, I have some more influence,” Mr. Schumer said. “So when I say we shouldn’t do this or we should do that, I guess people will pay a little more attention. Or go along with it, even if they don’t agree.”

“One good thing for me: All the people who I opposed, who I haven’t talked to, are not there,” he said, leaning forward with a sharp cackle.

Something about the way the senator talks struck me as odd, so just for a lark I counted the times Schumer referred to himself in the article.  The result?  Out of 27 sentences quoted, he used the words “I,” “me,” or “my” 16 times.   Isn’t that odd?  Even for a politician?

Meanwhile over at The Corner, John Podhoretz is more optimistic about the prospects of nominations to the Supreme Court, if not the rest of the judicial appointments.

Leave a Reply

